Old Canmore School, built 1921, demolished 1992

Back in 1992, shortly after the school board announced Canmore’s Model School, built in 1921 would be torn down, I asked my Grade 2 teacher Marilyn Watt if she would take me into the school so I could photograph it. I went in twice, once during the day and then once at night. This school was built after Canmore’s second school, a two-storey, four-room school burned down in late 1921. The new school, which was we thought of as the “old” school by the time we came along, opened Dec. 8, 1921.

About Rob Alexander

I am a writer, photographer and historian and the author of The History of Canmore, published by Summerthought Publishing of Banff, AB.
This entry was posted in Buildings and Sites and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Old Canmore School, built 1921, demolished 1992

  1. Fantastic, Rob! I still have a brick from the demolition. I am very nostalgic about that building, it was the first school which my oldest son attended, in 1988. Great documentation, thank you.

  2. Tanya Stahl says:

    absolutly wonderful!. when I was going throught the pictures It remined me of my own school life. I saw me in my mind at the age I am now, going through the hallways of this beautiful school. thanks for the great memories.
    Tanya (Cook) Stahl

  3. gpcox says:

    It is a shame about the school, but you made a point to get an excellent catalog of detail to remember it by. Bravo.

Leave a Reply

